André Mom, voettocht naar Rome

Day 40 - 50, The body aches

The first 3 days were a disaster. I don´t know whathappened but I got terrible pains on the forward tendons of my rightleg. The pain increased and on day 43 I was a complete wreckage, happy to reach a guesthouse, but nearly unable to climb the stairs. I had to see a doctor. He immediately diagnosed that I had a serious tendonitis and I had to take a rest period because of overstressing my muscles. He treated the leg with acream and prescribed medicine. We discussed the situation: he knew that I was trying to reachRome but suggested to take as many days as necessary to be able to walk again. And: listen to your body, he said. So I stayed there, in Sigmaringen, a nice city in southern Germany, for a few days and took off again. I was very happy that it worked and that I was able to return to my pelgrimage effort and the pains slowly ceased. Currently, after 53 days, it seems to be oke.

So I slowly returned to walking and reached the south of Germany. Here, at the Bodensee, my daughter Stijn and brother in law Harry, joined me to walk with the three of us into the mountains of Austria.It turned out to be extremely nice weather, after so many weeks of bad and wet weather. We walked upwards along the Bregenzerach, a wild floating river in the beginning, because of the very heavy rainfall during the last months and a lot of snow in the winter. It gradually decreased in size to a small current. It is extremely nice to discover the changing landscape, coming from thelow areas at sea level up into the high mountains. We are the only tourists here, unbelievable, the season is startingin a few weeks. Villages are often deserted, but the few people remaining are prepared to help you. It is nice, sitting in the sun after a long day of walking, overlooking the mountains and drinking a Hefeweizen beer or a nice white whine out of the region. It is also clear to me that good health is important. and not just a phrase we are often using/writing during Christmas time. For my trip it is of paramount importance. Germany was superb. I am in Austria now. Soon Italy. I am about halfway.

Reacties

{{ reactie.poster_name }}

Reageer

Laat een reactie achter!

De volgende fout is opgetreden
  • {{ error }}
{{ reactieForm.errorMessage }}
Je reactie is opgeslagen!